Vigil | Achgeketum Award | Allouchsit Allogagan Award | Chesimus Wulihan Award | Founder’s Award | Most Valuable Arrowman Award Wipinquoak Award | Centurion Award | Distinguished Service Award | Arrowman Service Award


The Vigil Honor is a high mark of distinction and recognition reserved for those Arrowmen who, by reason of exceptional service, personal effort, and unselfish interest, have made distinguished contributions beyond the immediate responsibilities of their position of office to one or more of the following: Octoraro Lodge, the Order of the Arrow, the Scouting community, or Horseshoe Scout Reservation. The Vigil Honor may be conferred upon Arrowmen who have completed a minimum of two years as a Brotherhood member and have performed exceptional service through leadership, exemplary efforts, and dedication. Members of the Order can be inducted into the Vigil Honor only with the written approval of the national Order of the Arrow Committee.

Requirements: Must be Brotherhood for 2 years and an active member of the Lodge. Please contact the Vigil Honor Committee for more details.

Click here for the Vigil Honor Nomination Form (fillable)
Click here for the Vigil Honor Nomination Form (for printing)

Achgeketum The Achgeketum Award

The Achgeketum Award is presented annually to one adult member of our lodge. The award represents the recipient’s uncommon dedication to the education of our youth members. Open to nomination by all members.

Requirements: Nominee be at least 21 years old and an active member of the Lodge.

Click here for the Achgeketum nomination form

The Allouchsit Allogagan Award

Established in 1995, the Mighty Servant Award was created to recognize those individuals whose service to Octoraro Lodge has made a lasting impact on our organization. The award is not limited strictly to Arrowmen but extends beyond our membership to honor outstanding service.

Click here for the Allouchsit Allogagan nomination form

The Chesimus Wulihan Award

This award is presented by the Lodge Executive Officers to recognize a new youth Brother in the Lodge who has served for fewer than two years, but who has, during that time, demonstrated outstanding service and commitment to the principles and mission of both the Order of the Arrow, and Octoraro Lodge.

Click here for the Chesimus Wulihan nomination form


The Founder’s Award

Introduced at the 1981 National Order of the Arrow Conference, the Founder’s Award was created to honor and recognize those Arrowmen who have given outstanding service to the lodge. The award is reserved for an Arrowmen who demonstrates to fellow Arrowmen that he or she memorializes in his or her everyday life the spirit of achievement as described by founder E. Urner Goodman and co-founder Carroll A. Edson. It was established to reinforce the values first instilled by the founders in the early days of the Order. From its inception, The Founders’ Award has been highly restricted and bestowed only upon those individuals who best exemplify the vision and quest of the founders.

Click here for the Founders Award nomination form

The Most Valuable Arrowman Award- The Most Valuable Arrowman Award is presented to a youth arrowman that went above the regular cheerful service, contributing positive ideas to the lodge to advance the program and community.


The Wipinquoak Award

Named for Octoraro Lodge’s first Lodge Chief, this is an annual honor given to Brothers in recognition of their lifetime of contributions to Octoraro Lodge.

Click here for the Wipinquoak Award nomination form


The Centurion Award

For nearly 100 years, the Order of the Arrow has purposefully recognized Scouts and Scouters who best exemplify the Scout Oath and Law in their daily lives. Therefore, our organization’s centennial provides a unique opportunity to commemorate those among us who are exemplars of the “high ideals and purpose of the Order of the Arrow.” The Centurion Award aims to highlight Arrowmen who have meaningfully contributed to the forming, maturing and ongoing operational excellence of their lodge, and who, in doing so, inspired others to follow in their footsteps. This award is a one-time recognition associated with the centennial anniversary of the OA that is bestowed by the national Order of the Arrow committee. This recognition is an opportunity to highlight lodge development over the last century and the many individuals, both youth and adult, who were instrumental to this success. These honorees will serve as exemplars of leadership, modeling to others a commitment to cheerful service as the Order of the Arrow enters its second century.


The Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award (DSA) was created in 1940 to honor those who rendered service to the Order beyond the lodge level. The award is presented to Arrowmen, youth and adult, who have rendered distinguished and outstanding service to the Order on a sectional, regional, or national basis. The award is presented at National Order of the Arrow Conferences.


The Arrowman Service Award

The purpose of the Arrowman Service Award (ASA) is to encourage Arrowmen to recommit themselves to the ideals of the Order, increase their level of service to their local unit and council, and participate in the 100th anniversary celebration of the OA. The award will have three categories of criteria with various requirements that Arrowmen can complete. These include components on personal growth, service to Scouting, and participation in the centennial celebration.  The award was offered to members who completed requirements between July 16, 2014 and December 31, 2015.

Share this:
WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :